About Me

          I was born on the 9th of October 1955

I've been married to 'Anne' for over 40 years

We have 2 adult 'children' James & Alex

My background (Briefly)     

I've worked in many capacities in my earlier life

including making and testing explosives with the MOD

After gaining my degree I worked with and managed a department for

young adults with learning disabilities and/or behavioural problems

I was also qualified and cleared to (and did) manage a semi-secure unit

I have also spent many years in various capacities with the British Military

mostly as a Reservist but seen active service in Iraq (2003) and with the United Nations

I am NOT a hero but I have had the good fortune to serve with some

                              My background in Survival & Bushcraft

            I was introduced to the 'outdoors' and inspired by my Dad and my Grandad

I learned LOTS in my early years in the Cubs and Scouts     

When I was about 11 years old I spent the school 'Summer Holidays' living off the land  

         I had the privilege of learning from some of the best Survival Instructors in the British Military

and even got to do some teaching

I have taught many aspects of Survival, Navigation and Bushcraft

to both military and civilian personnel

I have also done some 'Consultancy'

I currently own almost 4 acres (including a lake) on which I teach and train

In recent years I have successfully completed 2 X 42 day and 1 X 21 day

'Surviving off the Land Challenges'

 Some of my qualifications                                       

 I have a BSc (hons) degree in Applied Psychology

I hold qualifications in Psychological First Aid

I speak (to a greater or lesser degree) French German & Italian

with a 'smidgin' of lots of others
(I have a current DBS clearance)